Valentine’s Day Wisdom and Chocolate Treats

February 14, 2014 at 3:21 am 6 comments

ChocPndCake

My Southern Chocolate Pound Cake with Chocolate Pecan Icing, beautifully made and handsomely photographed by my friend, Linda Rogers Weiss, author of “Seasoned in the Kitchen”. Recipe below.

Flowers, candy, cards, candlelit dinners, chocolate: That’s my word-association when Valentine’s Day comes up. We tend to focus first on romance, special someone’s, expressing sweetheart-love. My friend Denise Vivaldo wrote the most wonderful, brief, brilliant commentary on this, and because I subscribe to her e-mail newsletter, it came right to my screen. (Always follow Denise, any time she invites you to do so. She is the hilarious, insightful, brilliant and talented best.) What Denise notes about Valentine’s Day is  short and sweet. You can read it in about 54 seconds and I promise you will be glad you did. Want to read it? Please click HERE. Denise ends with a little gift: Two recipes, one for adorable petit fours, and one for a pretty champagne cocktail involving raspberries.

IMG_3689Then there’s the wonderfulness of saluting and celebrating that romance, that love and affection, that finding someone special and signing on for the journey, and along came my friend Jamie Schler , who writes a wonderful blog called “Life’s A Feast”.  I always love her posts, but this latest one? It’s about love, romance, marriage, and French-style pudding au chocolat with salted caramel sauce. It, too, moved me, delighted me, and opened my eyes and heart. You can read it if you simply click HERE.

jamie cakes

Jamie includes the recipe for that chocolate confection, and gorgeous photographs of same. I made the little puddings, covered  and chilled them, and on the Big Snow Day (yesterday 2/13/14),  I made Jamie’s salted caramel sauce, and had it ready for my husband to enjoy for breakfast on the surprise snow day, instead of waiting for Valentine’s Day proper.

IMG_3753

Jamie’s Salted Caramel Sauce in progress, butter going in, soon to be followed by cream…

You want that caramel sauce recipe?Yes, you do. For that, just  click HERE. Jamie’s French Pudding au chocolat recipe is at the end of her post, HERE. 

It has actually been a rather chocolate-y week around here. I have been and remain very, very busy on a big project, and bless my heart, when I get really going and need relief, I tend to bake. Going out for a run, a game of racquetball? Were those my escapes, instead of baking, that wouldn’t have worked, given the big snow and all.

I know some people clean and organize their homes and offices. That is so nice, and I may change as I age, but so far, it’s baking. Flipping through my Miscellaneous Recipe folder (one of the 243+ MR folders around the house in various places around the house) I came across “15 Minute Chocolate Cake”.

IMG_3658

It had no notations at all as to where I had found it. Must have been a cut-and-paste, I thought. Can it really be a 15 minutes-into-the-oven chocolate cake, I wondered? I had everything. I went in the kitchen, started a timer, heated the oven to 350, set out the ingredients, and stirred it up. Oh NO!!! I forgot to do the pan first. Don’t like to do that so I put it off. Checked clock. Five minutes left!!! I got pan, greased it, lined it, and presto, into oven before the bell. The cake lifted up beautifully and came out just fine. Then I felt frustrated, because I couldn’t share it without credit and where in the world did I get it from? How would I ever find it?

unfrosted cakeBut why not at least just go Google 15 minute chocolate cake, so I did,  and voila, there it was, on my friend Andrea Nguyen‘s wonderful blog/website, Vietworld Kitchen. “Well, help my time!” is what my maternal grandmother used to say at such a time, which is Southern American NC English for “Who knew?” And so with full credit and delight, I present to you the recipe and story and pictures regarding the 15 Minute Chocolate Cake from Andrea on Vietworld Kitchen. All you do is click HERE.

IMG_3685

15 Minute Chocolate Cake from Andrea Nguyen’s “Vietworld Kitchen”, covered with ganach from MarthaStewart.com.

“That went well!” I said to myself. Then I thought about icing/frosting, and knew I needed the fastest simplest icing as I was WAY off the topic of the Big Project, and I thought not of a certain cake book we keep lying around here with lots of smudges and scribbles and crumbs on its pages. I thought of ganache! Chocolate and cream, right? How hard could that be? Not hard at all, as it turned out. I chose this recipe from google-ville, from Martha Stewart’s website, and it worked just fine. For that recipe, click HERE.

I had pecans handy, and a wholesale bakery where I once worked briefly used to put ground almonds on the sides of their Vienna fudge cake, so I did that too, but with pecans. They stuck a candied violet in the middle. One ingredient of which I happened to be out. Kidding — I never have candied violets. (I did buy some once, back in another era of my cooking life, and almost broke a tooth on one. I think those were more decorative, not for actual eating, though they were edible.)

This cake is chocolate-y and we loved it, but I think it does need whipped cream or ice cream, as a companion and foil.  By the way, in addition to chocolate cake, Andrea Nguyen has SO much to share on food, cooking, Vietnamese and Asian food, and life, so visit her site often, right HERE. I have all three of her books, and can’t wait for her next one:

6a00d8341ef22f53ef01a3faa3f0ea970b-500wi

This book will be out in July, but you can go to your favorite bookseller and order a copy in advance. Then you will not have to wait when it comes out, and the publisher can decide to print even more than they’d planned because of the mammoth buzz. But back to chocolate and Valentine’s Day and baking and treats.

IMG_3691

My chocolate pound cake. What a good friend Linda Rogers Weiss is, to cook from my books, and take gorgeous photos, and send them to me, and let me share them. I love her book, “Seasoned in the Kitchen”, which you can order if you click HERE.

ChocPndCakeThis is my very favorite chocolate cake, and while it is too wonderful to save for Valentine’s Day only, it makes for an especially good choice if you want to bake something to share with lots of people on Valentine’s Day Weekend. Pound cake works equally well for  “It Snowed!” Or “You did it!” Or, “Thank you for being so _______!” and “I appreciate how you ________!” We don’t need to wait till next February 14th to express love, appreciation, gratitude, or kindness, do we, now?

On this love-centered day and moving forward, let’s broadcast love. Let’s plant it and cultivate it. Let’s share cake or candy, cards or notes, hearts or flowers, smiles or jokes, simple kind greetings, looks and words.  My friend Denise Vivaldo said it well in her Valentine’s post linked above:

“…I think what we are supposed to celebrate is love and the JOY it brings us.Maybe you celebrate with a spouse, or a lover, or your best friend. Maybe the true romance of Valentine’s Day is the kindness we can show another.”

Nancie’s Chocolate Pound Cake with Chocolate Pecan Icing

This handsome cake has a deep, rich, chocolate flavor with just the right touch of sweetness. You can bake it in a tube pan, a bundt cake pan, or two loaf pans, and make lots of people happy with one baking session.Chocolate Pound Cake

3 cups sifted flour

1/2 cup cocoa

3/4 teaspoon baking powder

1/2 teaspoon salt

1 teaspoon vanilla extract

1 1/4 cups evaporated milk

1 cup (2 sticks) butter, softened

1/2 cup shortening

1 1/2 cups sugar

1 1/2 cups light or dark brown sugar

5 eggs

To make the cake, heat the oven to 325 F. Generously grease and flour a 10-inch tube pan or two 9-by-5-inch loaf pans.

Sift together the flour, cocoa, baking powder, and salt over a medium bowl. Stir the vanilla into the evaporated milk.

In a large bowl, combine the butter and the shortening and beat well with a mixer until they form a smooth, fluffy mixture. Add the sugars gradually, beating well to achieve a creamy, smooth consistency.

Add the eggs one by one, beating well each time. Add about one third of the flour mixture, and then half the milk, beating each time at low speed only until the flour or milk disappears into the batter. Mix in another third of the flour, the rest of the milk, and then the last of the flour in the same way.

Scrape the batter into the prepared pan and bake at 325 for about 1 hour and 30 minutes, or 55 to 60 minutes for loaf pans, until the top of the cake is firm and dry, the sides are pulling away from the pan, and a wooden skewer inserted into the center of the cake comes out clean.

Cool the cake in the pan on a wire rack or a folded kitchen towel for 15 minutes. Loosen the cake from the pan with a table knife, and turn it out onto a wire rack or a plate to cool completely, topside up.

Makes 1 large cake or 2 loaves

Nancie’s Chocolate-Pecan Frosting

This makes enough to glaze a pound cake or bundt cake. To frost a two layer cake or lots of cupcakes, simply double or triple the recipe.

1/4 cup butter (1/2 stick)

One 1-ounce square unsweetened chocolate, or 3 tablespoons cocoa

1 1 /4 cups confectionersí sugar

3 tablespoons milk

1/2 teaspoon vanilla extract

1 1/4 cups chopped pecans

To make the frosting, in a small saucepan, combine the butter and the chocolate or cocoa. Cook over medium heat, stirring often, until melted and smooth. Remove from the heat, add the confectionersí sugar, milk, and vanilla, and stir well until the glaze is smooth.

Spread the glaze over the cake while it is still warm, or cool to room temperature and use it to ice the top of the cake. Quickly sprinkle the chopped pecans over the frosting on the top of the cake.

 This recipes comes from Southern Cakes: Sweet and Irresistible Recipes for Everyday Celebrations, by Nancie McDermott. Chronicle Books: Copyright 2007: All rights reserved

Entry filed under: Classics, Family and Friends, Food and Holidays, Good Times and Special Events, Recipes, Southern Cakes. Tags: , , .

Lunar New Year Farewell: Mom’s Special Dish and Good-Luck Lettuce Black History Month Cookbook Round-Up: A Feast for Cooks and Readers

6 Comments Add your own

  • 1. Rachael (Fuji Mama)  |  February 14, 2014 at 5:24 pm

    What a wonderful lineup of fabulous treats and the people behind them!! Happy Valentine’s Day to one of the people I admire most. I hope your day is wonderful!

    Reply
    • 2. Nancie McDermott  |  February 14, 2014 at 5:47 pm

      Oh, so sweet. Thank you, Rachael, and to you as well.

      Reply
  • 3. jamielifesafeast  |  February 15, 2014 at 10:01 am

    Lovely… lovely… and your Valentine must have been very happy. I, too, bake when I am bored, stressed, procrastinating… well, you know that. And chocolate is my favorite way to go. I love Andrea’s cake there – it looks perfect, but I really really want to make your chocolate pound cake. Stunning! And just the way we all love cakes around here. Now my turn to make yours!

    I am thrilled you loved my puddings!! Thanks for baking, thanks for sharing, lovely Nancie! <3

    Reply
    • 4. Nancie McDermott  |  February 15, 2014 at 4:58 pm

      Thank you, Jamie. Your posts aways sweeten and enliven my day, with your words, pictures, illustrations and recipes. It really is a feast.

      Reply
  • 5. shockinglydelicious  |  February 15, 2014 at 3:35 pm

    You are a daily inspiration, and now I want your cake, too! Wise words from wise women, in this post.

    Reply
    • 6. Nancie McDermott  |  February 15, 2014 at 4:54 pm

      Many thanks. Trading you one cake recipe for your recipe for brown sugar fudge from your holiday blogpost. That made the lovliest tastiest extraordinary addition to my cookie plates and goodie tray this year.

      Reply

Leave a Reply

Trackback this post  |  Subscribe to the comments via RSS Feed


Enter your email address to follow this blog and receive notifications of new posts by email.

February 2014
S M T W T F S
« Jan   Mar »
 1
2345678
9101112131415
16171819202122
232425262728  

Recent Posts

Nancie’s tweets:

Goodreads


Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

Join 87 other followers

